krotism.blogg.se

Xbox live best indie games
Xbox live best indie games






xbox live best indie games

xbox live best indie games

An item that does one thing will do a different thing the next time you see it. Because the game is randomized, you really can’t count on anything. And it did it the same way Wario Ware did: simplifying the play mechanics, and then weaponizing them by throwing them at you in fast-paced, bite-sized chunks. It’s one of the best games I’ve ever played. Shock doesn’t even begin to describe how I feel about this. That’s how long I played Shutshimi the first time I booted it up.

xbox live best indie games

In other words, they included an option that made this game more epilepsy friendly. I only gave it consideration to begin with because it came via Anthony Swinnich, a long-time Indie Gamer Chick fan, and because he put “The Switch” in it. but it’s a genre I do go out of my way to avoid. even though that’s exactly what I’m doing. I don’t want to sound like I’m milking my condition. More over, shmups are the most high-risk genre for my epilepsy triggers, something I honestly haven’t minded up to this point. I’m certainly not nostalgic for them, and thus I’m not these games target audience. I find the majority of shmups to be boring, samey, typically unambitious, and designed strictly to target those that are nostalgic for shooters. And I call it a game only because it might be slanderous to call it what it really is: a drug.Īctually, going off this picture, maybe I’m on to something with the whole drug thing.Īnd an addictive drug at that. And that’s pretty much the entirety of the game. You fight a boss every few rounds, but only ten seconds at a time. The items have overly-long, elaborate descriptions (that are often not very helpful) and you have exactly ten seconds to make your selection. Between stages, you enter a store where you have a choice of three different items.

xbox live best indie games

And Shutshimi is essentially the Wario Ware of shoot-em-ups. But other games based around time crunches have also owned me, such as Pac-Man Championship Edition, Bejeweled Blitz, NES Remix, or XBLIGs Orbitron and Minigame Marathon. Probably a sign that I have ADHD or something. As many of you are aware, the original Wario Ware on Game Boy Advance is my personal choice for the best game ever made. So I picked Shutshimi, and it’s one of the ten best indie games I’ve ever played. Something I can rake over coals and murder with my malicious words. Something that looks like it’s been done a zillion times before. So what I need is a game from a genre that is my least favorite. But really, I have a reputation to maintain here. Or possibly that I’ve been replaced by my nicer, goatee wearing Mirror Universe counterpart. The emotional catharsis Edith feels as she walks the halls of the Finch home is palpable, and though the expression tends toward cliché, What Remains of Edith Finch truly needs to be experienced in order to be appreciated.With my last two reviews landing in the top ten on the Indie Gamer Chick Leaderboard, I’m now worried that my readers will think I’m going soft. Related: Best Horror Games On Xbox Game PassĮdith fills out a journal describing the lives and times of her many deceased family members, each one having allegedly been claimed by a deadly family curse - the nature of each relative’s passing is related through unique gameplay vignettes, ranging from morose gallows humor to heart wrenching tales of childhood lost. Slipping into the shoes of the eponymous Edith Finch, players explore the whimsical, bizarre, and oft-times haunting locale of her family’s ancestral home. What Remains of Edith Finch offers both in spades.

XBOX LIVE BEST INDIE GAMES SIMULATOR

And even when stealth doesn’t work in one’s favor, the combat system is surprisingly deep while remaining totally accessible - parrying and dodging are the orders of the day, evoking a unique sort of “Souls-lite” experience that’s satisfying to master.Ī walking simulator depends heavily on two elements in order to pull itself off: narrative and emotional impact. The kicker is that the game can be played with up to two partners for a cooperative stealth-action experience, and the feeling of elation yielded from flawlessly coordinating silent takedowns is an absolute treat. Placed into the sneaky shoes of said undead ninja-assassins, players are tasked with defending the people of Rashomon Valley from an invading army of pyromaniacs by utilizing stealth, supernatural shadow powers, and occasionally some good, old-fashioned sword-to-sword combat. If the tagline “undead ninja-assassins stealthily trounce fire-wielding glory boys” rings your bell, then you’ll want to check into Aragami 2.








Xbox live best indie games